OptusNet Reviews OptusNet broadband NBN reviews

3.6 Based on 7 Reviews in the last 24 months

86% of reviews would recommend OptusNet to a friend

Average customer review

Customer Service :
3.3
Tech Support :
3.3
Realibility :
3.9
Value :
3.7

About OptusNet Leave a Review

Web : optus.com.au

Services :

Call centre location: Australia, India, Phillipines

Phone : 1300 300 693

Availability : Australia Wide|All major cities

Optus is one of the largest telecos in Australia. They also offer TV plans packaged with their broadband plans.

read more...

OptusNet NBN Plans

Name Typical Evening Speed Data Cost Favourite
Internet Everyday 45 Mbps Unlimited $75 / month
Internet Everyday 100 90 Mbps Unlimited $95 / month

OptusNet Wireless Broadband Plans

Name Speed Data Cost Favourite
5G Internet Everday 85 Mbps Unlimited $75 / month

OptusNet Broadband Reviews

Danny

  1. 26 April, 2021
  2. Drummoyne NSW
  3. NBN - Residential
  4. 75 unlimited home NBN plan
  5. $75 per month
  6. Activation : < 1 week

Standard service from a big Telco

Reasonably priced, backup mobile SIM provides piece of mind.

Could be cheaper

Overall had a satisfactory experience with Optus. I went with them as they were reasonably priced and the NBN plan had a backup mobile sim in case the wired connection fails.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

4

Tech Support:

4

Relibility:

4

Value:

3

Recommend to a friend : yes

Spencer

  1. 30 March, 2021
  2. Granville NSW
  3. NBN - Residential
  4. 100/40MBS
  5. $95 per month
  6. Activation : 13 weeks

Great Service. Very Reliable

The service is reliable. It has a 4G backup should the NBN dropout. It never has

I cant get above 92MBS download

Whilst I am paying for a 100MBS download speed, I never can get above 92MBS (according to Speedtest), regardless of the time of day. Optus says they only guarrantee a minumum of 88MBS, so the speed TI get is considered within spec for a 100/40 MBS plan. Obviously the service has been throttled to this speed, even though Optus deny it

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

4

Tech Support:

3

Relibility:

5

Value:

4

Recommend to a friend : yes

Edin

  1. 28 March, 2021
  2. Kirrawee NSW
  3. NBN - Residential
  4. NBN 100/20
  5. $95 per month
  6. Activation : 1 week

Not a good experience

There are none

Horrible customer service, poor nbn connection

Do not sign up for Optus. That's all I can say. They cancelled our Cable Internet but had the audacity to keep charging us and we couldn't get our money back until we complained, when they graciously offered a 'one time' credit out of the goodness of their heart. Then they charged us for the modem and we had to call again to get our money back. Except they don't give you a refund, they credit your account. Is this even legal? They had a sign up deal with Flybuys they didn't honour until we complained. Calling someone and trying to explain to them what FlyBuys is wasted another hour of my life. The Fetch box wasn't activated and took chatting with someone for over an hour to get it fixed. Their customer service is disgraceful. A never ending line of completely incompetent, rude and uninterested people. And as soon as you sign up you start getting calls from your 'dedicated account manager ' who keeps spamming you trying to sell you a new phone plan but is nowhere to been seen trying to help resolve the myriad of issues that seem to follow their services.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

1

Tech Support:

1

Relibility:

4

Value:

3

Recommend to a friend : no

Angela

  1. 15 March, 2021
  2. Carseldine QLD
  3. NBN - Residential
  4. Optus
  5. $125 per month
  6. Activation : 3 weeks

Big company, customer service is friendly.

Customer service does try everything to sort out whatever the problems you are having with your service at the time.

The NBN service is always cutting out Also means no home ph for emergency calls for elderly Mum.

I’ve never had any bad experiences with Optus as they have done their best to work through whatever problems we’ve had to fix the issues. It’s just unfortunate that the NBN service is bad compared with the old broadband services that we had. We shouldn’t have any problems with the NBN service, specially considering that the NBN is all underground. I also have a elderly mother at home and I’m not well myself so when we have the internet down, we don’t have any home phone so if something happens to her we’ve got no way of calling 000. So for us this isn’t on.

OBBR Note: Customer is happy with Optus but the NBN is unreliable in her area.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

3

Tech Support:

4

Relibility:

3

Value:

3

Recommend to a friend : yes

Trevor

  1. 12 March, 2021
  2. Tinana South QLD
  3. Wireless - Residential
  4. Wireless Broadband 500GB
  5. $68 per month
  6. Activation : < 1 week

Optus to the Rescue

Competitive prices, good customer service, good connectivity

Havent really found any yet

About a year ago we bought a semi-rural property and tried to get our phone and internet transferred from our previous provider. After a month of being mucked about and being told 'sorry, we can't connect you at that address as it's rural', we went to an Optus store where the friendly staff worked out a suitable plan (which was cheaper than our previous provider), we were connected within a day, and touch wood we haven't had any problems since.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

5

Tech Support:

5

Relibility:

4

Value:

5

Recommend to a friend : yes

Jeff

  1. 4 March, 2021
  2. Frankston VIC
  3. NBN - Residential
  4. 115 BIG Home Bundle
  5. $99 per month
  6. Activation : < 1 week

Great Value

Unlimited Gb

none

Included unlimited phone calls, a free subscription to Fetch and a free Samsung Tablet!

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

5

Tech Support:

5

Relibility:

5

Value:

5

Recommend to a friend : yes

Marco

  1. 2 March, 2021
  2. Coraki NSW
  3. Wireless - Residential
  4. Home Internet 500
  5. $79 per month
  6. Activation : 58 weeks

Best I can get in rural location

Offer large download quota

Unreliable and oversubscribed

-Network oversubscribed
-Highest download quota for mobile broaadband

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

1

Tech Support:

1

Relibility:

2

Value:

3

Recommend to a friend : yes

Albert

  1. 21 March, 2018
  2. brisbane, QLD
  3. ADSL - Residential
  4. naked broadband
  5. $99 per month
  6. Activation : 3 weeks

They don't have too many drop-outs

They often lie, cheat, etc.

Don't sign up with Optus as they insist we pay a month in advance but when we leave, they cut our connection instead of giving us that extra month we payed for.
Then to add insult to injury, they take out another month's fee after we cancel our account with them. PLEASE BLOCK OPTUS WITH YOUR BANK (where Optus directly debits your account) when you leave them.
When we complain to Optus, they say they don't charge a month in advance but when we're about to sign up with them, they admit to charging us a month in advance!

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

2.5

Tech Support:

0.25

Relibility:

2.5

Value:

0.25

Mathew

  1. 3 January, 2018
  2. Melbourne, VIC
  3. Cable - Residential
  4. M Sykes
  5. $80 per month
  6. Activation : 2 weeks

There are NO positives

There are too many to list

Optus actively avoids existing customers, and their staff just lie and pass you off to other staff

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

0.25

Tech Support:

0.25

Relibility:

0.25

Value:

0.25

Albert

  1. 7 November, 2017
  2. Brisbane, QLD
  3. ADSL - Residential
  4. Limited ($55./mth for 30GB's)
  5. $55 per month
  6. Activation : 3 weeks

Rarely have any 'dropouts'

Cheat customers by not giving what they advertised.

Optus starts charging its customers, who are on limited plans, for high speed internet from midnight (on the first day of the billing cycle) but we don't get high speed internet until hours later.
They also say we use data even when the modem is unplugged from the wall!

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

0.25

Tech Support:

1.25

Relibility:

5

Value:

0.75

Load More Reviews