Exetel Reviews Exetel broadband NBN, wireless and adsl internet reviews and plan comparisons

3.4 Based on 7 Reviews in the last 12 months

71% of reviews would recommend Exetel to a friend

Average customer review

Customer Service :
3
Tech Support :
2.6
Realibility :
3.7
Value :
4.4

About Exetel Leave a Review

Web : exetel.com.au

Services : NBN,5G

Call centre location: Australia, Sri Lanka

Phone : 13 39 38

Availability : Australia Wide

Exetel has been around since the early 1990s and has continued to grow into one of Australia's largest independent broadband companies. It's still a family owned business and has over 240,000 customer

s in Australia.

read more...

Exetel NBN Plans

Name Typical Evening Speed Data Cost Favourite
Basic 11 Mbps Unlimited $60 / month
Everyday 25 Mbps Unlimited $65 / month
Extra Value 50 Mbps Unlimited $75 / month
Family 98 Mbps Unlimited $95 / month
Show more NBN plans

Exetel Wireless Broadband Plans

Name Speed Data Cost Favourite
Home Wireless 250 Mbps 15 GB $69 / month

Exetel Broadband Reviews

Lachlan
  1. 6 September, 2021
  2. Toowong QLD
  3. Cable - Residential
  4. Fibre5090
  5. $50 per month
  6. Activation : 1 week

Best value

Very cheap, very fast and easy setup, great speeds with no downtime.

Average customer service

Paying only $50 a month for speeds that beat my friends' is excellent. I've not had any problems with the connection other than when another technician accidentally disconnected me, resulting in me being left out-of-pocket to get Exetel to reconnect me again. Tech support is about average in my experience, and I don't think they were local. No real problems in two years of service.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

4

Tech Support:

4

Relibility:

5

Value:

5

Recommend to a friend : yes

Walter
  1. 18 August, 2021
  2. Altona VIC
  3. NBN - Residential
  4. Standard Plus nbn50
  5. $80 per month
  6. Activation : 4 weeks

Horrible Customer Service

Plan sounded like a good deal, local based company,

No communication, I had to constantly call, Incorrect emails being sent to me, not listening to my problem. Brushing off responsibility or helpfulness. Not getting you to do customer experience survey at the end of the call if they know you are unhappy

I signed up to Exetel as the had won awards and recommended by independent reviewers and aussie based so thought yeah lets do it. Big mistake. I enquired online and was getting phone calls daily to sign up. Eventually did. Then they ghosted me. My property had not been lived in for 6 months but was NBN ready, it had a box. After a week it still was not connected, everytime I called had to "wait 48 hours" to remotely check but I kept saying nothing has changed. They eventually organised a new NBN box thinking that was the issue, but I still has no NBN connection. Also, I received an email from Exetel that said "Kindly note that the NBN device is awaiting collection at the Post office therefore please kindly collect and connect it as advised in the below steps." I am not told what Post Office to go to or what to ask for to pick it up! Again another phone call and apparently thre girl "accidently" sent that email!
So again the same thing wait 48 hours for activation. Still would not send a technician. In the third week I gave them an ultimatium, give me an answer of what is going on in 24 hours or I disconnect. Never heard from them. So called and cancelled the service, even though I never had the service connected.
A couple of other things that were extremely disappointing from a customer service side:
One - When I signed up, I was told it was up to me to figure out if my BYO modem would work, they would not help me. The company I finally signed up to (thats for another "positive" review) first thing they asked, what modem I had and told me it would work (apparently its one of the top modems, dont know if they were just trying to sweeten me up).
Two - After every call they ask you to do a survey if you would reccommend Exetel. I noticed whenever I had an issue and was upset, they never asked me to take the survey, so being dodgy with their "customer service" info.
Took over three weeks and multiple phone calls and still would not send a technician out. The new company did it within a week. Oh, and the new NBN device Exetel sent me, was faulty, the old one works fine. So if they had just organised the technician when I asked, all this would have been avoided and maybe a different review.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

1

Tech Support:

1

Relibility:

1

Value:

4

Recommend to a friend : no

James
  1. 6 August, 2021
  2. Williams Landing VIC
  3. NBN - Residential
  4. Standard Plus nbn50
  5. $60 per month
  6. Activation : < 1 week

Good value plan

Good value

Customer service is very poor, just hope you never have technical issues

Connection tends to drop out frequently, happens most days although generally only for a few seconds so not a big deal but a stable connection should be expected from providers like this. Otherwise pretty reliable, just hope you don't have technical issues otherwise you'll find where the savings come from and don't expect to talk to someone who's first language is English either

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

3

Tech Support:

3

Relibility:

3

Value:

5

Recommend to a friend : yes

Louis
  1. 25 July, 2021
  2. Marrickville NSW
  3. NBN - Residential
  4. NBN 50/20
  5. $50 per month
  6. Activation : 2 weeks

Great price, and reliable. Setting up was tricky

Cheap cheap

Customer service

Phone support was difficult, took forever for payments to o through. Since then all has been stable.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

2

Tech Support:

3

Relibility:

5

Value:

5

Recommend to a friend : yes

Mish
  1. 24 June, 2021
  2. Lidcombe NSW
  3. NBN - Residential
  4. Exetel NBN 50 Plan
  5. $66 per month
  6. Activation : 3 weeks

Technical support could be improved

Initially cheap

Shocking technical support!

1. Plan offered by Exetel is initially cheap to attract new customers and after some time the company hikes up the price.
2. Experienced a network outage today so contacted Exetel technical support. Waited 35 minutes and only spoke to the supporting staff for 55 seconds, before had the chance to even provide my customer ID the line got disconnected by Exetel. No one from Extel called me back and had to re-call the support line again which was another 20 minutes wait.
3. When I called new customer sales line the call was immediately attended. The sales support did try to support but had to eventually transfer me back to the technical support line where I had to re-queue for technical support.

Overall my experience is not pleasant with Exetel's technical support team.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

3

Tech Support:

1

Relibility:

2

Value:

3

Recommend to a friend : no

Jacob
  1. 2 June, 2021
  2. South Geelong VIC
  3. NBN - Residential
  4. nbn50
  5. $60 per month
  6. Activation : 1 week

Great value and reliability

Price v Performance

Unable to access nbn100, however, this is fault of NBNCo not Exetel

Very happy with connection and price. Looking forward to NBNCo upgrading connection so I can increase speed.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

4

Tech Support:

3

Relibility:

5

Value:

5

Recommend to a friend : yes

Dan
  1. 11 March, 2021
  2. Newcastle NSW
  3. NBN - Residential
  4. 50/20 Unlimited
  5. $79 per month
  6. Activation : 1 week

Reliable broadband but offshore customer service wasnt very helpful

Low maintenance broadband

Technical support wasnt very helpful

I have been with Exetel for more than 5 years and am generally happy with the service. It is reliable and apart from the initial connection I haven't had any issues.

It was a bit tricky to set up in the first instance and technical support weren't very helpful and difficult to understand.

Cost is pretty good although I feel like I could get a better deal.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

4

Tech Support:

3

Relibility:

5

Value:

3.5

Recommend to a friend : yes

Burning
  1. 9 November, 2019
  2. melbourne, VIC
  3. 4G - Residential
  4. 4G mobile
  5. $40 per month
  6. Activation : 1 week

marketing pitch

punitive, poor service

These guys are a classic, quoting low prices up front and then stinging you for backend charges. They are attempting to whack me with a penalty fee of 25% of the monthly internet service charge following a failure of their payment system. I have raised a dispute and they have cut off my service. I have paid all of my monthly service fees and have no service. Really?

There are so many Internet service providers these days, so I recommend you choose one that looks after you like a genuinely valuable customer, rather than penalising you for their own failure.

Stay away or suffer :)

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

0.25

Tech Support:

0.25

Relibility:

2.5

Value:

0.25
Luke
  1. 9 January, 2019
  2. Perth, WA
  3. NBN - Residential
  4. Luke J Wells
  5. $80 per month
  6. Activation : 4 weeks

As far as im aware there are no positives to using this companies services.

Bad tech support, Bad service, Slow service, unreliable service, terrible customer service.

This company is by far the worst provider i have ever used. Terrible service, they give you no answers. hours spent on the phone with no result. kept billing me after i changed provider. absolutely disgraceful.
DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

0.25

Tech Support:

0.25

Relibility:

0.25

Value:

0.25
Adam
  1. 2 July, 2016
  2. Bowral, NSW
  3. ADSL2+ - Residential
  4. 100gb
  5. $73 per month
  6. Activation : < 1 week

It was cheap

It doesn't actually work

Pathetic customer service, pathetic connection reliability, have to use my mobile data anyway.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

0.25

Tech Support:

0.25

Relibility:

0.25

Value:

0.25
Load More Reviews