Exetel Reviews Exetel broadband NBN, wireless and adsl internet reviews and plan comparisons

3.8 Based on 8 Reviews in the last 12 months

88% of reviews would recommend Exetel to a friend

Average customer review

Customer Service :
4
Tech Support :
3.5
Realibility :
3.9
Value :
3.9

About Exetel Leave a Review

Web : exetel.com.au

Services : NBN,5G

Call centre location: Australia, Sri Lanka

Phone : 13 39 38

Availability : Australia Wide

More info on Exetel

Exetel has been around since the early 1990s and has continued to grow into one of Australia's largest independent broadband companies. It's still a family owned business and has over 240,000 customer

s in Australia.

read more...

Exetel NBN Plans

Name Download Speed Data Cost Favourite
Basic 12 Mbps Unlimited $59.95 per month
$49.95 for first 6 months
Everyday 25 Mbps Unlimited $59.95 per month
$49.95 for first 0 months
Extra Value 50 Mbps Unlimited $69.95 per month
$53.95 for first 6 months
Family 100 Mbps Unlimited $84.95 per month
$68.95 for first 6 months
Power home 100 Mbps Unlimited $94.95 per month
$77.95 for first 6 months
Superfast 250 Mbps Unlimited $119.95 per month
$99.95 for first 6 months
Lightspeed 500 Mbps Unlimited $139.95 per month
$119.95 for first 6 months
Show more NBN plans

Exetel Broadband Reviews

Cassandra
  1. 7 November, 2022
  2. Pakenham VIC
  3. NBN - Residential
  4. NBN
  5. $70 per month
  6. Activation : 4 weeks

Exetel dont communicate with customers

They answer the phone quickly

Lack of communication, lack of understanding, lack of Aust call centres, lack of info provided to customers prior to changes

Exetel do not communicate with customers prior to changes being made. They expect that everyone knows how Exetel internal systems work so customers should be aware of things that the average person just doesn't know. For example, when changing from FTTN to FTTP I was expected to know that I had to have an NBN box installed inside on my lounge room wall, that I had to move the modem from my current location of my kitchen to the new box in the lounge room, and that I needed to connect the modem to the new NBN box with a yellow cable instead and of the existing grey cable. Had I known any of these things then I could have been prepared and have the new cable ready. But now I'm left without a service until I run new security camera cables from my kitchen to the lounge room and until I can find the necessary yellow cable. Really disappointed that once again I'm left in the dark until after changes are made. They also sent me a text with a new email address and password - I have no idea what I'm supposed to do with this info?? Do I use it to log into something?? If so, then what?? I have no idea and of course I got no explanation from Exetel. For a telecommunications company they suck at communication!! This has been one of many instances where Exetel haven't communicated with me so as soon as I can afford to change to someone else I will be changing.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

1

Tech Support:

3

Relibility:

3

Value:

2

Recommend to a friend : no

Andrew
  1. 28 September, 2022
  2. ST KILDA EAST VIC
  3. NBN - Residential
  4. 50/20 unlimited data
  5. $70 per month
  6. Activation : < 1 week

Have been with Exetel for 15 years and found them to be a reliable service provider.

Reliable

None

Have been with Exetel for 15 years and found them to be a reliable service provider.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

5

Tech Support:

5

Relibility:

5

Value:

5

Recommend to a friend : yes

Gauge
  1. 1 September, 2022
  2. Maryborough QLD
  3. NBN - Residential
  4. nbn100/20
  5. $69 per month
  6. Activation : 1 week

Cheap unexceptional good thing, but I dont get the full 100/20 speeds.

Customer service hold time was rather short

Unlike telstra, they dont say if a standard nbn12100 speed is unachievable in an area

The cables going to my house are only able to pull a maximum of 87Mbps (10.8MB/s) shared between upload and download, as opposed to the 120 required by my plan - If I'm uploading while downloading, it's practically capped at 67/20 which is notably lower than advertised - Telstra was actually able to catch this, but I didn't see it on *any* other provider so I incorrectly assumed Telstra was being inaccurate.

Was painless enough to set up on my iiNet-provided technicolor router, I was up and running by the evening -- Only delayed because I didn't see the second email with the service password for a few hours, as I assumed I had to use my account password for it.


I didn't need techsupport, so I'm just leaving that at a "neutral" 3 stars as I was required to vote.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

5

Tech Support:

3

Relibility:

5

Value:

5

Recommend to a friend : yes

Petra
  1. 3 August, 2022
  2. Bondi Beach NSW
  3. NBN - Residential
  4. 50/20/Unlimited Data
  5. $54 per month
  6. Activation : 1 week

Quick connection and friendly service

Responsive customer service, quick connection and good service

Drops out sometimes, expensive once the offer ends.

Connection occasionally drops oit which is frustrating when in work meetings or trying to stream a movie. But generally its good service.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

5

Tech Support:

5

Relibility:

4

Value:

3

Recommend to a friend : yes

Mark
  1. 31 January, 2022
  2. HIGHFIELDS QLD
  3. NBN - Residential
  4. Extravalue nbn
  5. $63 per month
  6. Activation : 1 week

Internet mostly reliable

Cheapish

Call centre wait times

It does the job. Price is reasonable, and cheaper 6 month sign up period is nice.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

4

Tech Support:

4

Relibility:

4

Value:

4

Recommend to a friend : yes

Rachel
  1. 24 January, 2022
  2. Officer VIC
  3. NBN - Residential
  4. 100/40/Unlimited Data
  5. $110 per month
  6. Activation : 1 week

Great Service with small issues

Fast service and hassle free sign up

Service can drop out when it rains and at random times

Great fast connection and service but it seems to drop out and freeze when it rains. Can also happen any days but more so in winter. Good value for cost of plan.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

4

Tech Support:

2

Relibility:

4

Value:

4

Recommend to a friend : yes

Johnny
  1. 7 January, 2022
  2. EAST KILLARA NSW
  3. NBN - Residential
  4. Extravalue nbn
  5. $76 per month
  6. Activation : 18 weeks

Value for Money with unlimited international calls for some countries

Value for Money with unlimited international calls for some countries

No 4G backup when NBN connection fails

Positives: Value for Money with $10 extra on unlimited international calls for some countries for voip phones

Negatives: No 4G backup when NBN connection fails

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

4

Tech Support:

4

Relibility:

3

Value:

5

Recommend to a friend : yes

Sarah
  1. 27 December, 2021
  2. Kanimbla, Cairns QLD
  3. NBN - Residential
  4. Unlimited
  5. $65 per month
  6. Activation : 2 weeks

Good internet

On the cheaper end of the spectrum

Internet is often a bit unreliable

Tried contacting with connectivity issues and had difficulties contacting tech support. Connection can be hit and miss sometimes, but is generally pretty good. It's fairly well priced for what you get.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

4

Tech Support:

2

Relibility:

3

Value:

3

Recommend to a friend : yes

Lachlan
  1. 6 September, 2021
  2. Toowong QLD
  3. Cable - Residential
  4. Fibre5090
  5. $50 per month
  6. Activation : 1 week

Best value

Very cheap, very fast and easy setup, great speeds with no downtime.

Average customer service

Paying only $50 a month for speeds that beat my friends' is excellent. I've not had any problems with the connection other than when another technician accidentally disconnected me, resulting in me being left out-of-pocket to get Exetel to reconnect me again. Tech support is about average in my experience, and I don't think they were local. No real problems in two years of service.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

4

Tech Support:

4

Relibility:

5

Value:

5

Recommend to a friend : yes

Walter
  1. 18 August, 2021
  2. Altona VIC
  3. NBN - Residential
  4. Standard Plus nbn50
  5. $80 per month
  6. Activation : 4 weeks

Horrible Customer Service

Plan sounded like a good deal, local based company,

No communication, I had to constantly call, Incorrect emails being sent to me, not listening to my problem. Brushing off responsibility or helpfulness. Not getting you to do customer experience survey at the end of the call if they know you are unhappy

I signed up to Exetel as the had won awards and recommended by independent reviewers and aussie based so thought yeah lets do it. Big mistake. I enquired online and was getting phone calls daily to sign up. Eventually did. Then they ghosted me. My property had not been lived in for 6 months but was NBN ready, it had a box. After a week it still was not connected, everytime I called had to "wait 48 hours" to remotely check but I kept saying nothing has changed. They eventually organised a new NBN box thinking that was the issue, but I still has no NBN connection. Also, I received an email from Exetel that said "Kindly note that the NBN device is awaiting collection at the Post office therefore please kindly collect and connect it as advised in the below steps." I am not told what Post Office to go to or what to ask for to pick it up! Again another phone call and apparently thre girl "accidently" sent that email!
So again the same thing wait 48 hours for activation. Still would not send a technician. In the third week I gave them an ultimatium, give me an answer of what is going on in 24 hours or I disconnect. Never heard from them. So called and cancelled the service, even though I never had the service connected.
A couple of other things that were extremely disappointing from a customer service side:
One - When I signed up, I was told it was up to me to figure out if my BYO modem would work, they would not help me. The company I finally signed up to (thats for another "positive" review) first thing they asked, what modem I had and told me it would work (apparently its one of the top modems, dont know if they were just trying to sweeten me up).
Two - After every call they ask you to do a survey if you would reccommend Exetel. I noticed whenever I had an issue and was upset, they never asked me to take the survey, so being dodgy with their "customer service" info.
Took over three weeks and multiple phone calls and still would not send a technician out. The new company did it within a week. Oh, and the new NBN device Exetel sent me, was faulty, the old one works fine. So if they had just organised the technician when I asked, all this would have been avoided and maybe a different review.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

1

Tech Support:

1

Relibility:

1

Value:

4

Recommend to a friend : no

Load More Reviews