Exetel Reviews Exetel broadband NBN, wireless and adsl reviews

[Not enough reviews for star rating]

100% of reviews would recommend Exetel to a friend

Average customer review

Customer Service :
4
Tech Support :
3
Realibility :
5
Value :
4.3

About Exetel Leave a Review

Web : exetel.com.au

Services : NBN,5G

Call centre location: Australia, Sri Lanka

Phone : 13 39 38

Availability : Australia Wide

Exetel has been around since the early 1990s and has continued to grow into one of Australia's largest independent broadband companies. It's still a family owned business and has over 240,000 customer

s in Australia.

read more...

Exetel NBN Plans

Name Typical Evening Speed Data Cost Favourite
Standard 20 Mbps Unlimited $69 / month
Standard Plus 40 Mbps Unlimited $79 / month
Premium 77 Mbps Unlimited $99 / month
Show more NBN plans

Exetel Wireless Broadband Plans

Name Speed Data Cost Favourite
15GB 50 Mbps 15 GB $29.99 / month
60GB 50 Mbps 60 GB $59.99 / month
90GB 50 Mbps 90 GB $79.99 / month
Show more wireless plans

Exetel Broadband Reviews

Jacob

  1. 2 June, 2021
  2. South Geelong VIC
  3. NBN - Residential
  4. nbn50
  5. $60 per month
  6. Activation : 1 week

Great value and reliability

Price v Performance

Unable to access nbn100, however, this is fault of NBNCo not Exetel

Very happy with connection and price. Looking forward to NBNCo upgrading connection so I can increase speed.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

4

Tech Support:

3

Relibility:

5

Value:

5

Recommend to a friend : yes

Fasfsagas

  1. 11 March, 2021
  2. Newcastle NSW
  3. NBN - Residential
  4. 50/20 Unlimited
  5. $79 per month
  6. Activation : 1 week

Reliable broadband but offshore customer service wasnt very helpful

Low maintenance broadband

Technical support wasnt very helpful

I have been with Exetel for more than 5 years and am generally happy with the service. It is reliable and apart from the initial connection I haven't had any issues.

It was a bit tricky to set up in the first instance and technical support weren't very helpful and difficult to understand.

Cost is pretty good although I feel like I could get a better deal.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

4

Tech Support:

3

Relibility:

5

Value:

3.5

Recommend to a friend : yes

Burning

  1. 9 November, 2019
  2. melbourne, VIC
  3. 4G - Residential
  4. 4G mobile
  5. $40 per month
  6. Activation : 1 week

marketing pitch

punitive, poor service

These guys are a classic, quoting low prices up front and then stinging you for backend charges. They are attempting to whack me with a penalty fee of 25% of the monthly internet service charge following a failure of their payment system. I have raised a dispute and they have cut off my service. I have paid all of my monthly service fees and have no service. Really?

There are so many Internet service providers these days, so I recommend you choose one that looks after you like a genuinely valuable customer, rather than penalising you for their own failure.

Stay away or suffer :)

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

0.25

Tech Support:

0.25

Relibility:

2.5

Value:

0.25

Luke

  1. 9 January, 2019
  2. Perth, WA
  3. NBN - Residential
  4. Luke J Wells
  5. $80 per month
  6. Activation : 4 weeks

As far as im aware there are no positives to using this companies services.

Bad tech support, Bad service, Slow service, unreliable service, terrible customer service.

This company is by far the worst provider i have ever used. Terrible service, they give you no answers. hours spent on the phone with no result. kept billing me after i changed provider. absolutely disgraceful.
DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

0.25

Tech Support:

0.25

Relibility:

0.25

Value:

0.25

Adam

  1. 2 July, 2016
  2. Bowral, NSW
  3. ADSL2+ - Residential
  4. 100gb
  5. $73 per month
  6. Activation : < 1 week

It was cheap

It doesn't actually work

Pathetic customer service, pathetic connection reliability, have to use my mobile data anyway.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

0.25

Tech Support:

0.25

Relibility:

0.25

Value:

0.25

Rod

  1. 10 March, 2016
  2. Cairns, QLD
  3. ADSL2+ - Residential
  4. Bundle 1TB
  5. $59 per month
  6. Activation : 1 week

Connection & speed reliability

phone support (melancholy staff)

I have been with this company for 3yrs from the day 1 it was an easy process which took only 7 days for an internet connection. Their prices are pretty good compared with other providers however their overseas call centre support team can come across as monotone and very melancholy. If you require support I would recommend sending a message on facebook as they will always answer your email within a day which has been a plus for me. Overall I will stay with this company I haven't had a problem with them but doesn't everyone run into problems with their ISP company.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

4.75

Tech Support:

3.5

Relibility:

4.75

Value:

4.75

Bill52

  1. 23 November, 2015
  2. perth, WA
  3. ADSL2+ - Residential
  4. OT-100
  5. $50 per month
  6. Activation : < 1 week

... aaaam, let me think ...

They don't quite deliver

Was with Exetel for many years. Some of the issues:
- I went overseas and was to use my mobile phone. They wanted $220 as a deposit

to activate overseas calls. They said, I'll get it back when I return. OK.

After I returned, it took many-many emails to get them to refund my money.

- Horrific phone support. You get an extreamly muffled line with an extreamly

heavy accent on the other end. Can't get a word what they say. Finally, they

say they will transfer you to someone else and they drop the line.

- Phone support is useless. They just read a script. I needed some info

regarding the NBN connection. Just a piece of technical info.
Support: "what is your name sir?". I gave my name. "What is your number sir".

Gave it and said just need some info. "What is your email?". "You don't need

any of this. I only want some technical info".
"I will transfer you to support". "OK, thank you!"
At technical support: "Hallo. I need some info" . Support: "What is your order

number please." "THERE IS NO ORDER NUMBER!!!! I AM NOT ORDERING ANYTHING!! I

JUST NEED SOME INFO!!!". Then I asked my question which they coudn't aswer. "I

will transfer you ..." ... and here they dropped the line.

- The copper wires in our area are bad. Very bad. When someone complains, the

techie swaps the line to someone else's. I caught him in action transfering the

bad line to my line. When you report the bad line to Exetel support, they ask

you to disconnect you equipment, they need to test the line. So I did and told

them, it is disconnected. They run the line test. After a long ardous argument

they finally admint there is a problem. They now want me to agree to pay over

$200 dollars if the problem was in my equipment. They say, the line test wasn't

conclusive, they can't tell where the problem is. BUT I JUST CONFIRMED, MY

EQUIPMENT WAS DISCONNECTED WHEN THEY RUN THE TEST!
They literally accusing me with lying!

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

1.25

Tech Support:

0.25

Relibility:

1

Value:

0.25

Mark

  1. 5 November, 2015
  2. Bawley Point, NSW
  3. ADSL - Residential
  4. S-R
  5. $59 per month
  6. Activation : 1 week

Reliability

Front line customer service

I have been with Exetel for many years - even before they had phone in customer service - and have generally been very happy with their service. There were a few snafus when I moved from Adelaide to the south coast NSW last year, but these were attributed to the slack Telstra techy who took a sicky on the allocated day and didn't tell anyone. The front line CSO tried to delay the installation for another month! But I knew that they were only telling me what their schedule said.

And there lies a lesson for the inexperienced - as with any phone service, ALWAYS ask for the supervisor as the first person has no power to do anything. Always ask for their name and record the day and time of your conversation and ask them to read back what they have entered into their records. I spoke to a supervisor a couple of times and they were very helpful and were able to get someone out in a week, which is good if you live in the country.

A few years ago, when they expanded their operations, I was getting very slow speeds, so when I phoned their technician he changed my IP address instantly and that solved the problem.

There was however a bit of a money-grab when I moved. Because I was on an old plan and moving to the country I had to sign a new contract, which cost an extra $20 per month, but it was no more expensive than any other provider. Before doing this I did extensive research on all providers and decided to stick with Exetel, mostly because of their reliability. If you are experiencing slow speeds it is more than likely the site that you are accessing that is slow - particularly if it's overseas.

Nearly all reviews posted on the net are negative, no matter what product you are buying, because if you are happy with a product you generally won't bother to write a review. Currently TPG are offering really cheap deals, as are a few others, but read the fine print and proportion the number of negative reviews against the positive ones and use your best judgement, just don't lock in a long term contract. The vast majority of problems that I see can be directly attributed to Telstra - they are the absolute worst when it comes to service (their supervisors are always on a break), and neighbours have had all sorts of problems with their installations and being overcharged. So don't always blame your provider.

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

4.75

Tech Support:

3.5

Relibility:

5

Value:

4.5

Kris

  1. 10 August, 2015
  2. Casino, NSW
  3. ADSL2+ - Residential
  4. Was 500 GB
  5. $50 per month
  6. Activation : 1 week

None Now

Truning into Telstras Greedy Devil Spawn

Have been a loyal customer for many years and have referred alot of friends over that time and out of no where without as much as a phone call, only a message in theyre exetel inbox on theyre site, they decided to do a 'review' of my usage (of 500gb that i never go over) and decided to move me to a 'more appropriate' plan. in other words they have changed theyre plan structure to be significantly more expensive for less usage and didnt want customers staying on theyre existing cheap plans so theyre 'helping' by reviewing and moving people to a new plan without permission or consent even though in their own 'critical information summary' it states that once your contract period is up u can remain on your plan month - month until YOU change your plan or cancel! once i found out i was told there was no going back, no warning, no choice in the matter. Not happy. and theyre doing it to everyone now. Very sneaky and deceptive indeed!

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

1

Tech Support:

1

Relibility:

3.5

Value:

0.5

Matthew

  1. 12 May, 2015
  2. Gold Coast, QLD
  3. ADSL - Residential
  4. ?
  5. $40 per month
  6. Activation : < 1 week

Nothing!

Slow speed, constant dropouts, very poor customer loyalty

I was with Exetel for almost 10 years, and I recently tried to upgrade to one of their newer plans which would give me a lot more download. But they told me I couldn't change to a different internet plan unless I also transfer my phone line to Exetel (so that Exetel would also be my phone provider). Despite the fact that NEW customers can sign up for the exact same plan I wanted, without the requirement to transfer their phone line to Exetel!!
So much for loyalty....they offer a better deal to new customers than to their long term customers who have been with them for many years!
Needless to say I'm now with a much better internet provider, where I get a better internet service, better customer service and much more download for just a few dollars more than I was already paying.
Yep, Exetel is cheap....for a reason!!

Customer Rating

Customer Service:

1.5

Tech Support:

0.75

Relibility:

0.25

Value:

0.25

Load More Reviews